As per New Jersey State Police Directive No. 97, Auxiliary Police officers in New Jersey are subject to residency requirements.

If you are not a Sayreville resident, you may be eligible for an exemption, provided you meet both of the following requirements:

- A. There is no Auxiliary Police program in the municipality in which you reside.
- B. Your residence is not more than five (5) miles from the Sayreville border.

We have pre-determined that if you live in the following towns you are most likely eligible to join:

Sayreville
Parlin (Sayreville section)
Morgan
South Amboy
South River
Spotswood
East Brunswick

If you reside in the following list of area's, you are **NOT** eligible:

Any town outside of Middlesex County

Aberdeen

Edison (contact Edison Auxiliary Police)

Perth Amboy (contact Perth Amboy Auxiliary Police)

Keyport

Matawan

Marlboro

Metuchen (contact Metuchen Auxiliary Police)

New Brunswick

Old Bridge (contact Old Bridge Auxiliary Police)

Cliffwood Beach (contact Old Bridge Auxiliary Police)

Laurence Harbor (contact Old Bridge Auxiliary Police)

Parlin - Old Bridge section (contact Old Bridge Auxiliary Police)

Madison Park (contact Old Bridge Auxiliary Police)

Piscataway

Perth Amboy (contact Perth Amboy Auxiliary Police)

South Brunswick

Woodbridge (contact Woodbridge Auxiliary Police)

If your town is not listed, but is within 5 miles of the Sayreville border, please feel free to contact a recruiter at: recruiting@sayrevillepoliceaux.org. We have listed other townships on this list that *may* be accepting applicants. This list is not a guarantee that they are. Contact the other township for additional information.